Brazilian Jiu Jitsu Gi Reviews
Shares

Join Over 10,000 Gi Lovers for Exclusive Discounts and Giveaways

Get killer, exclusive deals and discounts from the top BJJ Brands and stores.
You will also get a free Gi Buying guide to download to help you find the perfect Gi for you.

Shoyoroll Charles Lew Review

Gi Review: Shoyoroll Charles Lew

Overview

The color combination and top of the Shoyoroll Charles Lew jacket are probably my favorite combo of all time. The Tiffany’s turquoise/blue (whatever) really pops on the black. The Gi is accented with diamond logo hits on the pants and jacket for a very clean and unique look.  I severely dislike ripstop pants, but as far as these ones go, they aren’t too bad. I should have jumped on the cotton pants option and have been kicking myself ever since. No durability issues to be had, but I personally feel like ripstop doesn’t breath well, turns into cardboard when wet and doesn’t allow for as greater of leg maneuverability.

Compare prices on your favorite BJJ gis at MMA Warehouse

I’m not going to go into details over the different Charles Lew options that were available, we already covered that, so I’ll just talk about this option, the V1, limited to GUMA members only. The Gi goes with a nice V1 Unique bag.

Shoyoroll Batch 13 Charles Lew Release Details

Shoyoroll Charles Lew Batch 13

What: BATCH #13 CHARLES LEW Guma Release V1 (Black) and V3 (White).

When: Friday, 11/2/12 from 9:00AM-9:00PM, PST

Price: Black $185.00, White $179.00

**Limit of 2 per customer for V1 and ONE per customer for V3.

We will also have the V2 available, but this sale will be available to all on Monday, November 5th. Unfortunately, we will not hold a special sale for Guma members for this particular version. More details listed below regarding the sale.

In other news, if you are attending the 2012 No-Gi World Jiu-Jitsu Championship this weekend at CSU Long Beach Pyramid,please visit the BudoVideos booth to get your hands on the new t-shirts we have dropping at the event. But that’s not all…

Shoyoroll Charles Lew Batch 13

In addition, we are launching the release of our Batch #13 CHARLES LEW V2 AND V3 gi’s at the Budo booth on Saturday, November 3rd AND Sunday, November 4th at 10:30 AM. The Charles Lew V2 (Black) gi will be sold on Saturday (11/3/12) and the Charles Lew V3 (White) will be sold on Sunday (11/4/12). The V3 is an IN PERSON ONLY release! The V3 will not be available for sale to the general public after the event. There will be 100 pieces of the V2 and 50 pieces of the V3 sold at the event!! There is a limit of 1 GI PER CUSTOMER.

For those who cannot attend the No-Gi Worlds, the Charles Lew V2 will be available for sale to the general public at http://store.shoyoroll.com/ on Monday, November 5th at 10AM, PST. This batch is very exciting for us because we will be introducing our new fitted sizing (A00F, A0F and A1F), which is ideal for people with a smaller and slimmer body frame. This is a great size for older kids, women or men with a small build. These new sizes will ONLY be sold at our online store.

What: BATCH #13 CHARLES LEW V2 (Black) ONLINE SALE

Where: http://store.shoyoroll.com/

**International Distributors

Australia- http://combatgi.com.au/combatgi/

Japan- http://www.btfightgear.com/

UK- http://www.grapplersdelight.com/

——————

When: Monday, 11/5/12 @ 10:00 AM, PST – Until Sold Out

Price: $185.00

*250 pieces will be released

**Limit of ONE gi per customer
Shoyoroll Charles Lew Batch 13

Charles Lew V1 (BLACK) **Guma Exclusive*

Black w/Turquoise and Grey Trim

Light Weight Pearl Weave Jacket

RipStopPants w/Turquoise Gusset

Shoyoroll Charles Lew Batch 13

Charles Lew V2 (BLACK) *Full public release*

Black w/Turquoise and Grey Trim

Light Tech Weave Jacket

Light Weight Poly/Cotton Blend Pants w/Light Tech Weave Gusset

Shoyoroll Charles Lew Batch 13

Charles Lew V3 (WHITE) *Guma and Nogi Worlds only*

White w/Turquoise and Grey Trim

Light Tech Weave Jacket

Light Weight Poly/Cotton Blend Pants w/Light Tech Weave Gusset

What do you think of the Shoyoroll Batch 13 Charles Lew? Which version will you get?

Also, if you have sizing questions, post them up below and we’ll answer them!  We’re shoyoroll sizing masters at this point haha!

Shoyoroll Charles Lew Batch 13

Our Review
Gi Review: Shoyoroll Charles Lew

Size Tested: Shoyoroll A2. (Typically larger than other A2’s, especially the pants in length) Me: 5’10” 195-200lbs.

 

A. 6.5

B. 31.25

C. 19

D. 25

E. 21.5

F. 12.5

G. 9

H. 40

Gi Review: Shoyoroll Charles Lew

Gi Review: Shoyoroll Charles Lew

The Jacket

Like I previously stated, the jacket is probably my favorite, the V1 is a 450gsm Pearl Weave that is very comfortable. The fit of the jacket fits me so well it’s as if it was tailored to me specifically. Shoyoroll A2 jackets fit me like a glove. The embroidery and stitching were well done. A couple overruns at a few end points, but no loose strings are just ugly reruns in the middle of the stitching. The collar is wrapped in ripstop on the V1 and is of medium width. It’s not a flimsy paper collar I’ve been seeing lately, but definitely not an HCK.

Gi Review: Shoyoroll Charles Lew

Like all the Shoyorolls I own and have felt, the seam tape is not scratchy and looks great.

Gi Review: Shoyoroll Charles Lew

Very, very nice arm embroidery.

Purchase pearl weave gis from Hayabusa, Fuji and more at MMA Warehouse

The Trousers

Ah my old enemy, ripstop pants. I just can’t understand why people love them so much. Brendan swears by them. As a guard player, I love having the pant legs fall to my knees giving my opponent less to grip, and the ripstop pants just cling to the legs. Alas though, I have to try and be as objective as possible. DIAF Ripstop. The unmistakable crotch of the Charles Lew is a little bright for me, but works as intended, my maneuverability isn’t limited in anyway. The beltloops are Shoyorolls standard 6 and work as intended. Although I wish they would add loops closer to the sides so the string doesn’t ever ride up on the sides (which can happen).

As far as ripstop pants go, these actually aren’t too bad. A little long for me, I found these pants around 2-3″ longer than most A2 pants.

The seam tape is again beautiful and doesn’t scratch at all. Scratchy seam tape should never be allowed to go to the market and Shoyoroll doesn’t disappoint in this regard.

Gi Review: Shoyoroll Charles Lew

In Conclusion

Never one to miss a hint at a unique opportunity, I took the liberty of getting my wife something nice for Xmas, with the Charles Lew being a bit of an inspiration. I think I scored a 10/10 on gift giving this Xmas:

Gi Review: Shoyoroll Charles Lew

Update: 03-29-2013

Gi Review: Shoyoroll Charles Lew

Around two weeks ago one of the belt loops popped off the Lew’s trousers. Not sure when it happened.

Purchase

Update (03/19/2017): This gi is no longer available.

Want the latest from top BJJ gi brands? Shop at MMA Warehouse!

About the Author Brendan

Brendan is the Founder and mastermind behind Gireviews.net. He is currently a Purple belt training in both gi and no gi. By day he is a elementary school teacher, by night, a jedi gi reviewer!

follow me on:

Leave a Comment:

9 comments
Cory says February 7, 2013

I got a pair of v2 a2 pants ill trade you! I’ve used them about there tomes so far

Reply
Annie says February 7, 2013

I am so glad I am not the only one who dislikes Ripstop pants (DIAF is my feeling on them most of the time as well). I mean I have learned to tolerate them on my CTRL Knight, because the top on that Gi is so sweet.

Reply
    Brendan says February 8, 2013

    Man! I think I’m the only one who dislikes cotton pants any more!

    Reply
      Nicole says February 12, 2013

      I’m pretty equal opportunity when it comes to pants. Just as long as they are comfy and flexible enough that I can work ‘dat guard.

      Reply
        Brendan says February 14, 2013

        im a total baby when it comes to pants. total goldilocks.

        Reply
WBA says February 7, 2013

How much do clothes cost in the Matrix?

Reply
Juan C. says March 6, 2013

Hey guys, i need a little help here. I bought this gi and it seems pretty legit at least the jacket is exactly the same. Now the pants are not ripstop they are cotton and they do not have the turquoise color on the crouch. Can you guys help me determine if this is a different version or if its just fake?

Reply
    Brendan says March 6, 2013

    different version. there are 3 versions that were made. the turquoise crotch with ripstop were just for GUMA members. You have the non-guma version 🙂

    Reply
Add Your Reply