Brazilian Jiu Jitsu Gi Reviews
Shares

Join Over 10,000 Gi Lovers for Exclusive Discounts and Giveaways

Get killer, exclusive deals and discounts from the top BJJ Brands and stores.
You will also get a free Gi Buying guide to download to help you find the perfect Gi for you.

Atama Ultra Light Gi Reviews

Atama Ultra Light Gi Reviews

**Contributor Reviews are located in the comments section at the bottom**

**Please add your reviews below**

Atama Ultra Light Gi

 The Atama Ultra Light kimonos are their lightest kimonos.  You get the same high quality you’d expect from Atama.  These are great for hot weather training or competitions like the IBJJF where you weigh in with the gi on.  It’s cut just like their Mundial models (see Mundial 9 gi review here) and has no seam in the back.  The Atama Ultra Light is soft just like you’d expect from the a lightweight gi and weighs between 3-4lbs.  It’s not as light as some gis (weighing in around 1-2lbs.) but certainly will be more durable as its heavier.  It features Atama’s ripstop pants that, personally, I have never seen or heard of having ripped (mine are still solid after years with them) unlike other brands ‘ripstop’ pants that rip all the time.  These ultra lights aren’t as light as some of the truly super light gis that are out there, but the Atama Ultra Light Gis will probably last longer than a lot of others.

 For more details about the Atama Ultra Light Gi, including how to purchase it, click here. (affiliate)

For more information on the entire range of gis from Atama, click here. (affiliate)

About the Author Brendan

Brendan is the Founder and mastermind behind Gireviews.net. He is currently a Purple belt training in both gi and no gi. By day he is a elementary school teacher, by night, a jedi gi reviewer!

follow me on:

Leave a Comment:

13 comments
Brendan says September 21, 2011

via chad

Just got back from training in it for the first time. Some observations….

It is super light. To the point where it is almost like it is not on.

It breathes very well. I actually can feel a breeze of air as I am moving. Other gi’s I have tried in the temperature between the outside of the gi and the inside gi is noticeably different once I start breaking a sweat. Not the case with this one.

The lapel is still a bit stiff and I am thinking this is causing the gi to open up a little when I start moving. I imagine this won’t be an issue once I break everything in.

The pants are every bit amazing as everyone has raved about them.

There is very minimal stretch to the gi.

Reply
Brendan says September 21, 2011

via Ed

The pants are nice and light, but the cut is a little baggy for my taste. The stitching on both the pants and jacket are not the best. I’ve only owned this gi for a few weeks now, and the jacket already tears when pulled hard enough (which is not that hard).

Reply
Brendan says September 21, 2011

via Sadatay

Fit- the gi is quite tailored with a short skirt. Atama gi’s fit me better than most other due to being stocky.

Collar- thick and stiff. This collar is stiffer than my Atama Mundial. In fact most of the weight for the top is from the collar.

Stiching- there were some frays but these do not hurt the integrity of the gi

Durability- the gi is exceptionally light and stretches slightly when pulled, but this does not hurt the integrity of the gi.

Pants- ripstop, light, and very comfortable

Overall- This gi is so light it feels awkward. That being said, it is a high quality gi. I have owned several light weight gi’s (e.g. Shoyoroll, Keiko summer, Koral lightweight) and this is the best one for my body type and has the best collar. Moreover, the price is excellent for this gi.

Reply
Erik Theodorevic says September 26, 2011

Which do you think is better, Atama Single or the Ultra Lite?

Reply
    Brendan says September 26, 2011

    I think the Atama single is better for what it does. If I was going to get another single weave and I wanted it to last as long as most double or gold weaves, I’d get an atama. But if I were going to get a lightweight gi, I’d probably go for Subculture or the Atama. Are you looking more for durability or something that weighs less?

    Reply
Fidel says September 28, 2011

I have two Atama Ultra lite gi’s a white and black; I must say that the jackets are nice, yet both pairs of the ripstop pants are… ripped! 🙁 I guess “ripstop” is a name and not a promise.

Reply
    Brendan says September 29, 2011

    They must’ve done their ripstops different for the ultra lite vs the mundial 7 and mundial 9s. Those parachute style pants seem indestructible. They’re made out of the same ripstop as Kauai kimonos are. Are they the same as the Ultra lite pants?

    Reply
      mts says October 10, 2012

      I’ve had 3 mundial #9. White, Black and Blue. The black 1 had different pants than the White / Blue version but my new black ultra light has the same pants as my white/blue mundial #9 which is weird. Must’ve been an old batch or something. I love the pants on my blue mundial and black ultra light but hate the black mundial pants.

      Reply
        Brendan says October 10, 2012

        are the black mundial pants cotton? i thought the white and blue were that awesome ripstop fabric that they started on the mundial 7.

        Reply
Top Jiu Jitsu Gi Reviews - Sherdog Mixed Martial Arts Forums says October 25, 2011

[…] more daily. Just wanted to put together a list for you guys of some of our top reviews so far!! Atama Ultra Light Gi Reviews – Brazilian Jiu Jitsu Gi Reviews Shoyoroll Yang Gi Review – Brazilian Jiu Jitsu Gi Reviews Kauai Kimonos Ripstop Gi Reviews – […]

Reply
Atama Brazilian Jiu Jitsu Gi Reviews - Brazilian Jiu Jitsu Gi Reviews says October 30, 2011

[…] Atama Ultra Light BJJ Gi […]

Reply
Naja Silver Ultra Light Brazilian Jiu Jitsu Gi Review | Brazilian Jiu Jitsu Gi Reviews says March 4, 2017

[…] Extreme isn’t as solid as some of the top brands like Koral and the older Atamas (new ones aren’t that great).  The collar is made out of rubber, not foam.  The pants are […]

Reply
Atama Gold Weave Gi Reviews | Brazilian Jiu Jitsu Gi Reviews says March 18, 2017

[…] Atama Ultra Light BJJ Gi […]

Reply
Add Your Reply